jump to navigation

He’s gone October 3, 2008

Posted by saltcastings in Family.
Tags:
trackback

I just learned my cousin, Shawn Gier, died late yesterday.  I don’t know what to say.  Unbelievable.  He was such a great guy.  Kind hearted, polite, caring and a wonderful sense of humor.  He was also fearless, tough and wasn’t the type to give up on something until he got it right.  I’ve done a lot of reflecting on my time with Shawn since I first created this post and as a result have re-lived many more memories than I could find time to describe. 

  • Trips to Levy in my Jeep Wagoneer to jump off the cliffs and swim; the long, hot walk down the train tracks; Harry’s trunks splitting up the sides after hitting the water with very little material left to protect his modesty; swimming across the pond and getting into a mud fight on the other side.
  • Watching Shawn skate in a contest in downtown Kennewick.  He was trying to pull a ho-ho and the board hit him in the back of the head.  He got up, shook it off, and kept going until he nailed it.
  • Working with Shawn and a team of derelicts in the corn and sorghum fields across the Columbia Basin one summer for Pioneer Seed Corp.; I’ve never been so hot and laughed so hard in my life.
  • Listening to Jane’s Addition, Soundgarden, The Pixies, PWEI and tons of other music at ear-splitting levels in your room.
  • Christmas Eves and Thanksgivings at our grandmother’s house on Cascade Street when our parents actually rented both a VCR and tapes to keep us occupied in the back room. 
  • Watching Shawn drop into the half pipe he and Heath built in their backyard and wondering if I’d ever have the balls to do it myself.  Answer: still haven’t found them.
  • Sneaking into Elliot’s Lake with snorkels and fishing spears, finding some huge bass and then taking turns flying off the rope swing until we couldn’t hold the rope any longer.
  • Feeling bulletproof whenever we were together, no matter what the situation.  I never questioned whether Shawn had my back.

Love you, Shawn, and will miss you.  You’re a huge part of who I am today.

Comments»

1. brad bangerter - October 7, 2008

I was good friends with Shawn in high school. Just saw the obit. What happened???

2. brent walden - October 8, 2008

i will miss him he was a great guy

3. paul landby - October 9, 2008

shawn was very talented good hearted person– lots of good memories with him–he will be missed

4. Casey Mitchell - October 10, 2008

A sad, sad, day today. Shawn you’re loved and missed.

5. Melyssa Veteto Riggs - October 15, 2008

That is so sad – he was a great guy I knew in high school! My deepest sympathies to his family!

6. Goodbye, 2008 « Salt Castings - January 4, 2009

[…] was also filled with more loss than I ever thought possible.   Nana, Shawn, an old friend from West 30th in Kennewick.  And Carol.  I’ll never forget that call from […]


Leave a Reply

