jump to navigation

Pink Sno September 26, 2011

Posted by saltcastings in Uncategorized.
trackback

The boys and I picked up Regular Grandpa this morning on our way to fish for pinks on the Snohomish.  We fished the same spot the week before and got skunked: lots of fish jumping and finning, but no bite.  This time the boys were set up with gaudy pink maribou jigs while I was armed with an assortment of clousers, comets and other pink accoutrements.

Don and the boys ended up fishing well above me.  At one point I turned to see Noah putting his little spin rod to the test with a sturdy fish on the other end.  I reeled in quickly to lend a hand and noticed he was putting down the rod.  I guessed he’d lost the fish, but since I was out of the water anyway, I might as well make the walk up and check in.  Halfway there I hear him yell.  “Dad, I got one.  Can I kill it?”  He was holding the salmon over his head like a prize fighter holding a championship belt.  “Sure,” I yelled back, while several guys on the bank started to laugh.

When I finally reached them, the salmon was quietly resting on the bank and he was back fishing.  Turns out his drag had failed shortly after he hooked the fish, so he dropped the rod and fought it hand-over-hand, landed it by himself with no net, and bonked it all on his own.  Jack hooked and lost three fish, including one that was a real pig.  Me?  Shut out, again, but couldn’t have been more proud.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

